University Library of Erlangen-Nuremberg

The University Library of Erlangen-Nuremberg is the library system of Friedrich-Alexander-Universität (FAU) Erlangen-Nürnberg. At the same time, it is the Regional Library of the district Mittelfranken.  As a comprehensive academic library, it provides its users with a broad spectrum of literature from all academic disciplines and a wide range of services.

The university library system of Erlangen-Nuremberg consists of four central libraries and 15 departmental libraries, whose holdings are dispersed over roughly 200 sites. The Main Library and the Science and Technology Branch Library (Technisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Zweigbibliothek,TNZB)  are situated in Erlangen, whereas the Economic and Social Sciences Branch Library (Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftliche Zweigbibliothek, WSZB) as well as the Educational Science Branch Library (Erziehungswissenschaftliche Zweigbibliothek, EZB)  are located in Nuremberg.

The total stock of the University Library amounts to appr. 5.4 million media items, with about 50,000 new titles added annually. Holdings include 52,000 electronic journals, roughly 8,500 printed journals and newspapers, as well as a historic collection of 613,000 titles. Its 930,000 academic dissertations form one of the most extensive collections of this type in Germany.  In 2012, 40,000 active library users borrowed more than 1 million media items, 65,000 items from the Library’s holdings were sent out on Interlibrary Loan.

More than once the Library has been awarded the quality seal “Bibliotheken – Partner der Schulen” for its extensive range of target-group oriented training programmes and it has won a trophy in the best practice competition announced by the Verein Deutscher Bibliothekare (VDB) and the Deutscher Bibliotheksverband e.V. (dbv).